Tunisian film “Fatwa” by Mahmoud Ben Mahmoud awarded Golden Tanit at 2018 Carthage Film Festival  

The Golden Tanit, the highest distinction of Carthage Film Festival, was awarded to Tunisian feature film “Fatwa” by Mahmoud Ben Mahmoud, which also won Best Actor for Ahmed Hafian, as the 29th edition of the Carthage Film Festival (JCC) closed Saturday evening in the Opera Theatre in the city of culture in Tunis.

“Brotherhood” by Tunisian Meryem Joobeur won the golden Tanit in the category of short films.

List of the films awarded at the 29th edition of the Carthage Film Festival:

Official Competition of Feature Films:

Golden Tanit: “Fatwa” by Mahmoud Ben Mahmoud (Tunisia)

Silver Tanit: “Yomeddine” by A.B Shawky (Egypt)

Bronze Tanit: “Le voyage inachevé” by Joud Said (Syria)

Award for Best Picture: “Le voyage inachevé” by Joud Said (Syria)

Best Music Award: “Rafiki” by Wanuri Kahiu (Kenya)

Award for Best Screenplay: “Supa Modo” by Likarion Wai Naina (Kenya)

Award for best actress: Samantha Mugatsia in the film “Rafiki” (Kenya)

Best Actor Award: Ahmed Hafian in the film “Fatwa” (Tunisia)

Special mention:

– “Sofia” by Meryem Ben M’Barek (Morocco)

– “Maki’LA” by Ekwa Bahango (DR Congo)

Audience Award: “Le voyage inachevé” by Joud Said (Syria)

Official competition of short fiction films:

The Golden Tanit: “Brotherhood” by Meryem Joobeur (Tunisia)

The Silver Tanit: “Lalo’s House” by Kelley Kali (Benin)

Bronze Tanit: “Astra” by Nidhal Guiga (Tunisia)


Special mention: “Le fleuriste” by Chamakh Bouslama (Tunisia)

Official Competition for Documentary Feature Films

The Golden Tanit: “Amal” by Mohamed Siam (Egypt)

The Silver Tanit: “You come from far away” by Amal Ramsis (Egypt)

Bronze Tanit: “Erased, Ascent of The Invisible” by Ghassen Halwani (Lebanon)

Official competition of documentary short films

The Golden Tanit: “Resonances” by Nicolas Khoury (Lebanon)

The Silver Tanit: “I signed the petition” by Mahdi Fleifel (Palestine)

Bronze Tanit: “Kedougou” by Mamadou Khouma Gueye (Senegal)

Competition first work:

TV5Monde Prize: “Sofia” by Meriem Ben M’barek (Morocco)

Taher Cheriaa Award: “Sofia” by Meriem Ben M’barek (Morocco)

Special mention to feature documentary “Fahavalo” by Marie-Clémence Paes (Madagascar).





Related posts